Early day motion 106

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that over 40,000 people die prematurely each year as a result of poor air quality in the UK, and this can be particularly attributed to vehicle emissions, including levels of nitrogen dioxide, and also to other particulates; further notes that the UK has been taken to court four times for failing to address the UK's poor air quality, that it is now time to ensure that there is effective air quality monitoring across all areas of the UK, in particular areas of high levels of air pollution and congestion, as well as near schools; and believes that the Government must respond by establishing clean air zones in all areas of the UK, and facilitate appropriate resourcing to oversee the retrofitting of all buses and coaches, setting out a clear timeline for all vehicles to be replaced by ultra-low emission vehicles, as well as supporting local authorities to manage congestion, creating green lungs in urban spaces and undertaking initiatives like tree planting to mitigate against poor air quality.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 23

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 23 out of 23

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 18.07.2017
Carden, Dan Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.07.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.07.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 04.07.2017
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 13.07.2017
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 04.07.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.07.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 05.07.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 11.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.07.2017
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 11.07.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 10.07.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 09.10.2017
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 03.07.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 05.07.2017
Pollard, Luke Labour Party Plymouth Sutton and Devonport 06.07.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 04.07.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 05.07.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 05.07.2017
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 20.07.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 11.07.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 11.07.2017
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 04.07.2017