Early day motion 958

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House cherishes access to justice for victims of workplace accidents and industrial diseases; notes that in these often difficult and complicated cases, victims require proper legal representation and expert reports, the costs of which cannot be recovered when taken through a small claims court; therefore opposes a Government proposal to increase the threshold of employer liability personal injury small claims cases to £5,000 from £1,000, thereby denying around 90 per cent of victims necessary professional legal services; is appalled that this could lead to around 80,000 victims each year being left undefended against well represented employers and their insurers; believes that many victims will be forced into the hands of unprincipled claims companies, as reputable lawyers will be left unable to take their cases; is concerned that there will be a knock-on effect for health and safety in workplaces, as unscrupulous employers realise that they are less likely to be financially liable for injuries and diseases to their staff; and calls on the Government to exclude employer liability cases from any changes to how courts deal with personal injury cases.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Berger, Luciana Labour Party Liverpool Wavertree 21.02.2017
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 21.02.2017
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 21.02.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.02.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 23.02.2017
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 22.02.2017
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 21.02.2017
Hanson, David Labour Party Delyn 21.02.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 28.02.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 22.02.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 07.03.2017
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 23.02.2017
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 30.03.2017
Matheson, Chris Labour Party City of Chester 22.02.2017
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 21.02.2017
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 22.02.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 22.02.2017
Murray, Ian Labour Party Edinburgh South 21.02.2017
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 21.02.2017
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 22.02.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 23.02.2017
Ryan, Joan Labour Party Enfield North 21.02.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 01.03.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.02.2017
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 23.02.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 22.02.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 23.02.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 22.02.2017
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 21.02.2017