Early day motion 945

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates Edinburgh-based Tap into IT on its laudable endeavours to improve the quality of life of people who are most at risk of social isolation; notes that Tap into IT was founded in 2008 by Mike Ellis, and now operates as a Social Enterprise to enable older adults, particularly those over 65, to get online for the first time and to develop basic skills for their own and others' benefits; further notes that it does this by teaching older people to use email and the internet, and helping them to get more out of the web and digital technology; notes that it promotes social inclusion by offering voluntary and paid work experience, forging partnerships with community networks and organisations with an interest in the welfare of vulnerable groups, and providing its services in a community setting; is aware that more than 20 per cent of the population are aged over 65, and that there has been a rapid rise in the number of single-person households; believes that more must be done to tackle the causal connections between social isolation and loneliness, and poor outcomes in older people's mental and physical health; and applauds and commends the excellent work of Tap into IT in improving the IT skills of older people, supporting digital inclusion, and working to promote social inclusion.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 15

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 15 out of 15

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 06.03.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.02.2017
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 21.02.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 27.02.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 24.02.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.02.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 24.02.2017
Murray, Ian Labour Party Edinburgh South 20.02.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 23.02.2017
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 24.02.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 21.02.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 22.02.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 21.02.2017
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 28.02.2017
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 22.02.2017