Early day motion 907

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned at reports of state censorship, in particular the firing, detention and wiretapping of journalists working for newspapers, websites and broadcasters in Turkey; notes that under the state of emergency and in the run-up to the April constitutional referendum in Turkey, the authorities have been carrying out an unprecedented crackdown on freedom of expression and human rights more broadly; expresses further concern that since the state of emergency was proclaimed, over 100 journalists have been detained without trial, making Turkey the world's biggest jailer of journalists, while 149 media outlets have also been closed; further notes that Turkey is ranked 151st out of 180 countries in the Reporters Without Borders World Press Freedom Index 2016; urges the Government to raise those issues at the highest possible level with the Turkish authorities; and calls for the immediate and unconditional release of jailed journalists.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 51

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 51 out of 51

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 01.02.2017
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 01.02.2017
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 06.02.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.02.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 08.03.2017
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 01.02.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 01.02.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 08.02.2017
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 24.03.2017
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 01.02.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 01.02.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 02.02.2017
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 01.02.2017
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 01.02.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 06.02.2017
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 02.02.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 20.02.2017
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 01.02.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 02.03.2017
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 01.02.2017
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 08.02.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 01.02.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 07.02.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 02.02.2017
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian 01.02.2017
Kerr, Calum Scottish National Party Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 01.02.2017
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 08.03.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 01.02.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 13.03.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 01.02.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 01.02.2017
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 07.02.2017
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 08.02.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 08.02.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.02.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 01.02.2017
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 07.02.2017
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 01.02.2017
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 01.02.2017
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 03.02.2017
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 08.02.2017
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 08.02.2017
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 03.02.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 06.02.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 02.02.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 01.02.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 02.02.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 07.02.2017
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 07.02.2017
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West 01.02.2017
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 08.02.2017