Early day motion 901

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that between 2001 and 2005, at least 24 aircraft with known links to the US Central Intelligence Agency stopped on Scottish soil, a total of 107 times enroute or returning from missions that involved activities widely believed to include kidnapping, torture and extraordinary rendition; notes that these aircraft refuelled at Scottish airports enroute to or from known destinations for the purpose of extraordinary rendition and torture; further notes that Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Inverness, Glasgow, Prestwick and Wick John O'Groats airports were all used in the rendition of terrorist suspects; further recognises that responsibility for authorising such flights rests with the Government and that transfers to torture are designed and intended to deprive the individual of their most basic human rights; acknowledges that the use of Scottish airports to service aircraft undertaking extraordinary rendition is wholly unacceptable and that the people of Scotland wish no part in facilitating or enabling extraordinary rendition flights that ultimately subject fellow human beings to the cruellest abuse imaginable; and concludes that the Government must never again authorise in secret the use of Scottish airports to facilitate the breach of any individual's inalienable human rights.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 03.02.2017
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 06.02.2017
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 06.02.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 06.02.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 08.02.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 01.02.2017
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 06.02.2017
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 01.02.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 07.02.2017
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 03.02.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 09.02.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 06.02.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 01.02.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 03.02.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 03.02.2017
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 01.02.2017
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 01.02.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 01.02.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.02.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 07.02.2017
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 31.01.2017
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 24.02.2017
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 03.02.2017
Olney, Sarah Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 20.04.2017
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 08.02.2017
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 03.02.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 07.02.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 01.02.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 07.02.2017