Early day motion 899

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


This House commends the role of all sectors of the veterinary profession in the welfare of domestic pets and livestock and in maintaining public health; recognises the high level of education and training provided by UK veterinary schools and training providers for veterinary surgeons and nurses throughout the world; acknowledges the service delivered by official veterinarians in testing for Bovine TB in cattle and other activities relating to disease surveillance and animal welfare monitoring, including the inspection and authorisation of animals and animal products for export and the management of the Pet Travel Scheme; notes that each year around 50 per cent of veterinary surgeons registering to practise in the UK are from overseas, with the vast majority coming from the EU; and calls on the Government to work with the British Veterinary Association and the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons to guarantee the rights of EU veterinary surgeons and nurses already living, working and studying in the UK, alongside reciprocal rights for UK veterinary professionals working in the EU.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 03.02.2017
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 06.02.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 06.02.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 01.02.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.02.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 02.02.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 01.02.2017
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 06.02.2017
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 02.02.2017
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 03.02.2017
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 30.01.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 20.02.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 06.02.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 07.02.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 01.02.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 03.02.2017
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 30.03.2017
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 01.02.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 01.02.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.01.2017
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 01.02.2017
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 24.02.2017
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 03.02.2017
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 09.03.2017
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 08.02.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 31.01.2017
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 03.02.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 06.02.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 31.01.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.02.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 07.02.2017
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Penistone and Stocksbridge 21.02.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 31.01.2017
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 07.02.2017