Early day motion 897

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the enormous and vital contribution nurses, midwives and associated healthcare professionals make to the NHS across the UK; commends their strong sense of vocation and high levels of dedication; notes that nursing staff salaries have been subject to a one per cent pay freeze since 2010 and that nursing pay has fallen by more than 14 per cent in real terms since 2011; is concerned that this pay restraint has had a detrimental effect on nurses' standard of living and their morale; and calls on the Government to take action to remove the one per cent pay cap, to return to UK-wide pay scales, to implement a pay award for nursing staff in line with retail price index and to restructure the lowest Agenda for Change pay bands to pay the living wage and to maintain pay differentials.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 65

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 65 out of 65

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 27.02.2017
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 07.03.2017
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 20.03.2017
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 07.03.2017
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 06.03.2017
Brabin, Tracy Labour Party Batley and Spen 18.04.2017
Bryant, Chris Labour Party Rhondda 01.02.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 01.02.2017
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 24.03.2017
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 06.02.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.02.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 31.01.2017
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 01.02.2017
Dugher, Michael Labour Party Barnsley East 20.02.2017
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 31.01.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 13.03.2017
Elliott, Tom Ulster Unionist Party Fermanagh and South Tyrone 01.02.2017
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 16.03.2017
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 20.02.2017
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 16.03.2017
Fletcher, Colleen Labour Party Coventry North East 07.02.2017
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 07.03.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 06.02.2017
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 20.02.2017
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 02.03.2017
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 02.03.2017
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 13.03.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 07.02.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 01.02.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 07.03.2017
Jones, Graham Labour Party Hyndburn 28.02.2017
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 01.02.2017
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 09.02.2017
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 01.03.2017
Lewis, Ivan Labour Party Bury South 06.03.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 29.03.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 18.04.2017
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 30.03.2017
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 20.04.2017
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 01.02.2017
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 01.02.2017
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 13.03.2017
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 06.03.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 01.02.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.01.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 07.03.2017
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 20.03.2017
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 27.02.2017
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 18.04.2017
Olney, Sarah Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 01.02.2017
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 31.01.2017
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 20.02.2017
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 30.01.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 31.01.2017
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 22.02.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 31.01.2017
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.02.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.02.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 01.02.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 31.01.2017
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 20.02.2017
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 20.02.2017
Timms, Stephen Labour Party East Ham 02.02.2017
Turley, Anna Labour Party Redcar 20.02.2017
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 07.03.2017