Early day motion 87

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that it is the first duty of government to protect and promote the interest and well-being of its citizens, and therefore records its dismay at the failure of successive UK administrations to protect and promote the interests of the innocent victims of IRA/Libyan Semtex, their dependents and their loved ones; notes that in addition to those who lost their lives, the victims who survived still bear the physical and emotional scars of their suffering; recalls that these atrocities occurred not just in Northern Ireland but throughout the UK and beyond; considers that the attention of both the media and public needs to be drawn to the fact that the US government sensibly persuaded Libya to compensate the number of American victims of the same atrocities whilst the Government failed to do so; calls on the Government now to remedy that wrong by taking the initiative with their interlocutors in Libya, the US and the EU by demanding that any recognition of and support to any new Libyan government will be dependent on a compensatory package being agreed in respect of the UK victims; and further resolves that the assets of the Qadhafi regime and those of the Muainmar Qadhafi shall remain frozen until such time as an amicable settlement has been agreed.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 17

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 17 out of 17

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 25.05.2016
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 25.05.2016
Cartlidge, James Conservative Party South Suffolk 26.05.2016
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 07.06.2016
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 25.05.2016
Elliott, Tom Ulster Unionist Party Fermanagh and South Tyrone 25.05.2016
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 06.06.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 08.06.2016
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 25.05.2016
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 25.05.2016
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 26.05.2016
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 26.05.2016
Mowat, David Conservative Party Warrington South 13.06.2016
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 25.05.2016
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 24.05.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 25.05.2016
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 25.05.2016