Early day motion 857

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that President-elect Donald Trump stated on 22 December 2016 that the US must greatly strengthen and expand its nuclear capability, and reportedly later said let it be an arms race; believes that this is incredibly irresponsible language for the President-elect to be using; further notes that President-elect Trump has previously stated that the biggest problem we have is nuclear proliferation and having some maniac, having some madman go out and get a nuclear weapon, that in my opinion is the single biggest problem that our country faces right now; and calls on the Foreign Secretary and the Secretary of State for Defence to begin discussions with the President-elect's team to ensure that an arms race is averted and that the US and the UK support a plan for nuclear disarmament under the auspices of the UN, including plans for a treaty to ban nuclear weapons which will be discussed later in 2017.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 23.01.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 24.01.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 25.01.2017
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 20.01.2017
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 30.01.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 24.01.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 02.03.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 20.01.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.01.2017
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian 26.01.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 20.01.2017
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 23.01.2017
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 02.02.2017
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 25.01.2017
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 26.01.2017
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 20.01.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 25.01.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 23.01.2017
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 24.01.2017
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 25.01.2017
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West 01.02.2017