Early day motion 856

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is dismayed by reports of the continued persecution of anti-slavery activists in Mauritania; is concerned about the welfare of anti-slavery activists who remain in jail following an appeal hearing in November 2016 further to the conviction of 13 anti-slavery activists in August 2016; notes that anti-slavery NGOs have been prevented from registering which has resulted in activists belonging to or representing them being at continual risk of arrest; further notes also that a case taken by two formerly enslaved children from Mauritania to the African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child is currently being heard; exhorts the Mauritanian government to release all anti-slavery activists from prison immediately and unconditionally to end their persecution and to allow anti-slavery organisations such as the NGO Initiative for the Resurgence of the Abolitionist Movement to register; encourages the Mauritanian government and all organs of state to ensure slavery is finally eradicated, including by implementing its domestic and international law; and calls on the Government to do more to end slavery and related practices in Mauritania, including by strengthening the UK's official presence in that country and by advising UK companies seeking to invest there of the dangers of becoming complicit in exploitative working practices.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 31

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 31 out of 31

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 12.01.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 11.01.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 12.01.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 18.01.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 18.01.2017
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.01.2017
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 20.01.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 02.03.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 11.01.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 20.01.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 17.01.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.01.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 13.01.2017
Mactaggart, Fiona Labour Party Slough 11.01.2017
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 30.03.2017
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 19.01.2017
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 19.01.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 17.01.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.01.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 17.01.2017
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 18.01.2017
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 02.02.2017
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 25.01.2017
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 16.01.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 19.01.2017
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 20.01.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.01.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 17.01.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 17.01.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 12.01.2017
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 25.01.2017