Early day motion 824

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates First Aid Africa on reaching its fifth anniversary as a registered charity in 2016, having been initially founded in 2008 as a student society at Heriot-Watt University; notes the Edinburgh-based charity provides sustainable medical equipment and teaching in first aid in partnership with communities in rural south eastern Africa where access to health care is expensive and limited; further notes the organisation is still largely staffed by student volunteers who are trained and supported by the charity as they prepare and fundraise alongside their studies throughout the academic year before spending four and a half weeks of their summer teaching basic first aid skills in schools, community groups and hospitals; further congratulates First Aid Africa on securing funding from sources such as the British Medical Association Humanitarian Fund, as well as having grown its presence across UK universities with affiliated societies established at the University of Edinburgh, Queen Margaret University and Napier University, alongside Heriot-Watt University in its home city, as well as such groups having been formed at Robert Gordon University, Stirling University, Birmingham City University, Brunel University and the University of Nottingham; notes the organisation's successful AGM and Awards Night 2016-17 on 3 December 2016 which provided a platform for planned continued success over the next five years; wishes all of First Aid Africa's staff and volunteers well as they implement their progressive agenda; commends those who have already volunteered their skills to help those in great need; and encourages students who have not yet done so to make a real difference by participating in the charity's inspiring programme.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 16.12.2016
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 16.12.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 16.12.2016
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 16.12.2016
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 16.12.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 16.12.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 16.12.2016
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 16.01.2017
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 16.12.2016
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 16.12.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 16.12.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 16.01.2017
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 16.12.2016
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 19.12.2016
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 16.12.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 16.12.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 25.01.2017
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 19.12.2016
Paterson, Steven Scottish National Party Stirling 16.12.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 16.12.2016
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 16.01.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 16.12.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 19.12.2016
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 16.12.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 19.12.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 16.12.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 16.12.2016
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West 16.12.2016
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 16.12.2016