Early day motion 793

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the publication of UNISON's annual Violence at Work Survey 2016, which shows that over 40,000 violent assaults against public service workers in Scotland were recorded over the last year; further notes that for employees of Scottish local authorities alone, the number of violent assaults has increased from 13,206 to 17,605 in the last year; believes that this is a shameful statistic and that it is unacceptable for workers to be exposed to such levels of abuse in their workplaces; further believes that the high incidence of abuse is linked to cuts to local authority budgets due to UK and Scottish Government policy decisions, which have resulted in reductions to essential funding and cuts to vital services; recognises that public service workers continue to perform vital functions to a high standard, despite being subjected to increased abuse and sustained cuts with negligible increases in pay; and calls on the Government to end austerity to ensure public services are protected and public service workers can go to work free from the threat of violence and abuse.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 14

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 14 out of 14

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 12.01.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 14.12.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 12.12.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 14.12.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.12.2016
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 30.03.2017
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 13.12.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.12.2016
Murray, Ian Labour Party Edinburgh South 08.12.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 13.12.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 12.12.2016
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 13.12.2016
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 13.12.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 19.12.2016