Early day motion 774

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the decision of Catalonia's High Court to proceed with the prosecution of the Speaker and President of the Catalan Parliament, Carme Forcadell, for allegedly violating Spanish law by allowing a parliamentary debate on altering the Spanish constitution, specifically on holding a referendum on Catalan independence; further notes that if found guilty, Ms Forcadell could be subject to debarment from public office and a personal fine; believes that, regardless of the constitutional legalities involved, to take steps to potentially remove and fine a Speaker for facilitating a debate in an elected chamber is regrettable and sets a dangerous precedent that could undermine public support for the democratic process; voices concern at the exceptional speed at which the case against Ms Forcadell is being pursued; and urges the Spanish government to reconsider the prosecution and to seek a resolution of its disagreements with members of the Catalan Parliament through mutual dialogue.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 23

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 23 out of 23

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 07.12.2016
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 07.12.2016
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 07.12.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.12.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 08.12.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 07.12.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 07.12.2016
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 07.12.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 19.12.2016
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian 07.12.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 08.12.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 13.12.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 13.12.2016
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 14.12.2016
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 07.12.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 07.12.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 07.12.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 07.12.2016
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 07.12.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 08.12.2016
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 07.12.2016
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 07.12.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 15.12.2016