Early day motion 705

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the blasphemy charges facing Basuki Tjahaja Purnama, commonly known as Ahok, the Governor of Jakarta; notes that the police made Mr Basuki a criminal suspect, but not proven guilty, following a demonstration against him on 4 November 2016 mainly attended by radical elements seeking to pressurise the government to arrest him; and calls on the government of Indonesia to ensure that the charges against Basuki Tjahaja Purnama are withdrawn and that all reasonable measures are taken to prevent the persecution of Christians in this way.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 19

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 19 out of 19

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 30.11.2016
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 24.11.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 05.12.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 15.12.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.11.2016
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 29.11.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 07.12.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 22.11.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.11.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 29.11.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 30.11.2016
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 30.11.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 01.12.2016
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 23.11.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 24.11.2016
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 29.11.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.11.2016
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 22.11.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 30.11.2016