Early day motion 675

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses its concern about the August 2016 arrest of Ghada Jamsheer, a prominent Bahraini women's rights and pro-democracy activist, on charges related to her exercising freedom of expression and making criticisms online of the government of Bahrain; recognises the ongoing judical harassment Ghada Jamsheer has faced as a result of her fight for codified personal status laws in Bahrain to protect women in family court matters; notes that Bahraini law perpetuates gender-based discrimination and inequality, including the exclusion of Shia women from codified family law; is concerned about the ongoing targeting of human rights defenders in general, through arbitrary arrest, long-term prison sentencing without trial, and torture; views the increasing targeting of the family members, including children, of human rights defenders as a fear tactic to deter political dissent; calls for scrutiny of the British police's role in training Bahrain's security forces, who have indiscriminately deployed crowd-control weapons to quell demonstrations, including on women and children; further calls on the government of Bahrain to advance the hearing of Ghada Jamsheer, as her health is currently deteriorating in Isa Town Women's Prison; calls for her trial to be accessible to her lawyers, international media and non-governmental organisations; calls for the release of other human rights defenders who have been arbitrarily arrested while exercising their rights to free speech and assembly in Bahrain; and urges the government of Bahrain to accept the right of citizens peacefully to express dissent and cease persecuting activists.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 24.01.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 05.12.2016
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 22.11.2016
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 30.11.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 28.11.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 18.11.2016
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 22.11.2016
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 21.11.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 16.11.2016
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 29.11.2016
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 01.12.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.11.2016
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 21.11.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 07.12.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.11.2016
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian 21.11.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 29.11.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 16.11.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 16.11.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.11.2016
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 22.11.2016
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 17.11.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 01.12.2016
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 23.11.2016
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 16.11.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.11.2016
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 29.11.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 24.11.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.11.2016
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 23.11.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 17.11.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 29.11.2016
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 29.11.2016
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 24.11.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 23.11.2016
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 30.11.2016