Early day motion 656

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that a staggering 38.5 million plastic bottles are used every day in the UK and that, along with cans, plastic bottles account for approximately 40 per cent, by volume, of all litter found in our environment; believes that a Deposit Return System will help ensure that these bottles and cans stay in the recycling economy rather than polluting our environment; further notes that Deposit Return Systems were commonplace in the UK until the 1980s, and are successfully used in 11 other European countries with recycling rates often in excess of 90 per cent; welcomes the success of the five pence single-use carrier bag charge in England, which has reduced the distribution of plastic bags by 6 billion bags in its first six months; believes that a Deposit Return Scheme would help to dramatically increase the collection rate of plastic bottles and other containers, helping to protect the environment and to save local authorities and taxpayers money; and calls on the Government to follow the example of other nations and introduce a mandatory Deposit Return Scheme in the UK by including it in the National Litter Strategy.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 28.11.2016
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 08.12.2016
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.11.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 06.03.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 30.11.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 15.11.2016
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 23.02.2017
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 09.03.2017
Dugher, Michael Labour Party Barnsley East 28.11.2016
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 14.12.2016
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 05.12.2016
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 21.02.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 14.11.2016
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 19.12.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 18.11.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 08.11.2016
Mann, Scott Conservative Party North Cornwall 16.11.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 16.11.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 14.11.2016
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 16.11.2016
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 23.11.2016
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 16.11.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 15.11.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 15.11.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 16.11.2016
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 08.12.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 17.11.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 21.11.2016