Early day motion 633

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that cavity wall insulation (CWI) has been installed in millions of homes in successive government-backed schemes, but that in many cases the insulation has failed, acting not as a barrier to keep heat on the inside but as a bridge to allow water penetration from the outside; further notes that the actual number of failures is unknown and that the consequential damp and other related and very serious problems have blighted the lives of householders for years; notes that many victims are older, disabled or vulnerable people; notes that many installation companies have gone out of business and that the industry guarantee scheme has serious failings, including a defensive and sometimes hostile attitude to claimants and provides a guarantee not compensation; notes that successful extraction of CWI is difficult and sometimes poorly completed, leading to further problems; commends the tireless work of Civalli, the victims support group; and calls on the Government to institute measures to actively identify potential victims, rectify failed installations and provide proper compensation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 17

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 17 out of 17

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 04.11.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.11.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 02.11.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 07.11.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 02.11.2016
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 03.11.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 02.11.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 02.11.2016
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 02.11.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 02.11.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 02.11.2016
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 21.11.2016
Smith, Owen Labour Party Pontypridd 02.11.2016
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 14.11.2016
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 07.11.2016
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 01.11.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 03.11.2016