Early day motion 591

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the various collaborative campaigns to make votes matter by introducing a fair voting system; notes that petitions started since the 2015 general election calling for a fair voting system have gained over 500,000 signatures, and that recent polling suggests a significant majority of the public support moving to a more proportional system of electing hon. Members; further notes that the alternative vote system is not proportional and that the 2011 referendum gave no verdict on proportional representation; agrees that the current system of electing hon. Members is no longer fit for purpose; believes that the UK's voting system should ensure that those who are entitled to vote have a vote that counts, and counts equally, no matter who they vote for or where they live; further believes that the share of seats a party gets should closely reflect the share of votes that people give them; and calls on the Government to bring forward legislation to introduce a system of proportional representation for elections to the House.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 70

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 70 out of 70

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 07.11.2016
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 01.11.2016
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 01.11.2016
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 19.01.2017
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 17.11.2016
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 02.11.2016
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 15.11.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 02.11.2016
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 25.10.2016
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 25.01.2017
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 03.11.2016
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 23.01.2017
Coyle, Neil Labour Party Bermondsey and Old Southwark 09.01.2017
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 01.11.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 26.10.2016
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 16.11.2016
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 02.11.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.10.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 03.11.2016
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 07.11.2016
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 16.11.2016
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 31.10.2016
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.11.2016
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 19.12.2016
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 06.02.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 16.11.2016
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 01.02.2017
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 19.01.2017
Kerr, Calum Scottish National Party Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 07.11.2016
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 31.10.2016
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 01.11.2016
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 20.02.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 03.11.2016
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 09.01.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 25.10.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 07.11.2016
Mactaggart, Fiona Labour Party Slough 01.11.2016
McCaig, Callum Scottish National Party Aberdeen South 01.11.2016
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 26.10.2016
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 26.01.2017
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 16.11.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 01.11.2016
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 02.11.2016
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 24.01.2017
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 22.11.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 03.11.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 07.11.2016
Olney, Sarah Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 09.01.2017
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 22.11.2016
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 12.01.2017
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 03.11.2016
Reynolds, Jonathan Labour Party Stalybridge and Hyde 14.11.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 25.10.2016
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 18.04.2017
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 03.11.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 01.11.2016
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 23.01.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 25.10.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 26.10.2016
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 02.11.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 26.10.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 01.11.2016
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West 31.10.2016
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 01.11.2016
Umunna, Chuka Labour Party Streatham 25.10.2016
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 24.01.2017
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 23.01.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 25.10.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 14.11.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 26.04.2017