Early day motion 59

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the long-term unresolved problem of toxic contamination of war zones, especially in Iraq; notes research on this problem recently presented by Dr Mozhgan Savabieasfahani to the University of Stavanger; is concerned about the lead pollution from burn-pits on US bases and from use of munitions and bullets; further notes the resolution agreed by the American Public Health Association in November 2015 that parties involved in military activities abroad have a post-conflict responsibility to clean up and decontaminate polluted areas; and calls on the Government to work with the US to take the necessary action to clean up areas polluted by the allied military forces and assist current generations in Iraq with remedial healthcare.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 06.06.2016
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 08.06.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 25.05.2016
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 26.05.2016
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 25.05.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 08.06.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 13.06.2016
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 13.06.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.05.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 25.05.2016
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 25.05.2016
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 23.05.2016
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 09.06.2016
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 25.05.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.05.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 06.06.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 06.06.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 24.05.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 24.05.2016
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 09.06.2016
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 24.05.2016
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 08.06.2016
Paterson, Steven Scottish National Party Stirling 20.06.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 24.05.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 24.05.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 26.05.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 06.06.2016
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West 04.07.2016
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 26.05.2016