Early day motion 530

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses concern about the recent news that FIFA has disbanded its anti-racism taskforce; notes with consternation that FIFA states that the job of the taskforce is over despite abundant evidence of continuing racism in world football, including incidents at the UEFA European Championships in France in summer 2016; further notes that the taskforce has been disbanded during the lead-up to the World Cup in Russia, a country that has seen considerable problems with racism in football and where the number of racist incidents at football games has doubled in the last year, according to the most recent research from the Moscow-based SOVA Center and the Uefa-affiliated FARE Network; questions why campaigns such as FIFA's excellent Say No to Racism campaign should not be supported and encouraged; expresses general dismay at the apparent misguided priorities of FIFA's current governance; re-affirms support to UK campaigns such as Kick it Out and Show Racism the Red Card; and calls on the Football Association and relevant bodies in the UK to continue doing everything they can to combat racism in football.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 32

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 32 out of 32

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 27.10.2016
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 17.10.2016
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 12.10.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 21.10.2016
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 28.10.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.10.2016
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 17.10.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.10.2016
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 02.11.2016
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 27.10.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 26.10.2016
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 01.11.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 24.10.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.10.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 18.10.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 21.10.2016
Mactaggart, Fiona Labour Party Slough 17.10.2016
Matheson, Chris Labour Party City of Chester 12.10.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 25.10.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.10.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 21.10.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 24.10.2016
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 20.10.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 17.10.2016
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 05.01.2016
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 21.10.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 13.10.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.10.2016
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 18.10.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 17.10.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 20.10.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 26.10.2016