Early day motion 514

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that in order for all passengers to be able to turn up and go at railway stations and on train services, stations must be adequately staffed and there should always be a second safety critical member of staff on a train; further notes that train guards currently provide a safety critical role, which gives a guarantee of a second person on a train to provide assistance to passengers who require it; notes that failure to provide the requisite staff to enable turn up and go travel should be considered a breach of train and station operators' safety and accessibility duties; is concerned that the Railway Safety and Standards Board warned in its 2015 report that under Driver Only Operation (DOO) passengers would face greater requirements to book in advance, possibly facing additional travel restrictions, which would represent a move away from the current goal of making the railway more accessible for all; believes that the proposal to remove a second safety critical member of staff on Southern Rail services would be detrimental to access especially at unstaffed stations; calls on the Government and Southern Rail to ensure passengers retain this guarantee at all times; and further calls on the Government to undertake an equality impact assessment of DOO, if it has not yet done so, and to publish this and any other relevant work it has carried out.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 14

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 14 out of 14

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 28.10.2016
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.10.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 12.10.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.10.2016
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 11.10.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.10.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 11.10.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 16.11.2016
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 11.10.2016
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 17.10.2016
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 11.10.2016
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.10.2016
Smeeth, Ruth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 12.10.2016
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 11.10.2016