Early day motion 491

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the urgency of tackling climate change and the Government’s signing of the Paris Agreement; further notes the first International Energy Association annual report on global energy investment which warns that global investment in renewables needs to triple to meet the Paris Agreement commitments; takes note of the report from the Energy and Climate Change Committee warning that the UK’s existing 2020 renewable energy targets are unlikely to be met; expresses deep concern at the changes to the rateable value of rooftop photovoltaic solar panels being proposed by the Valuation Office Agency, which may result in a six to eight-fold increase in the business rate charges to businesses, community groups and schools for the use of their own rooftop solar across the UK; notes the popularity, importance and affordability of solar power; and calls on the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, the Department for Communities and Local Government and HM Treasury to take action to prevent unexpected and extreme business rate rises for solar and thus guarantee that the industry and its diverse investors are treated consistently to help ensure the rapid and cost-effective transition to a low-carbon UK economy.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 52

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 52 out of 52

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 05.01.2016
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 13.10.2016
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow 20.10.2016
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.10.2016
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 13.10.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 24.10.2016
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 12.10.2016
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 25.10.2016
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 11.10.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.10.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 11.10.2016
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 24.10.2016
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 03.11.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.10.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 11.10.2016
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 10.10.2016
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.10.2016
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 27.10.2016
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.10.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 10.10.2016
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 18.10.2016
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 21.10.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.10.2016
Kerr, Calum Scottish National Party Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 18.10.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 18.10.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 10.10.2016
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 21.11.2016
Matheson, Chris Labour Party City of Chester 11.10.2016
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 13.10.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 08.03.2017
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 11.10.2016
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 10.10.2016
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 13.10.2016
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 22.11.2016
Murray, Ian Labour Party Edinburgh South 08.12.2016
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 20.10.2016
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 05.01.2016
Paterson, Steven Scottish National Party Stirling 02.12.2016
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 10.10.2016
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 18.11.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 10.10.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 11.10.2016
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 26.10.2016
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 18.11.2016
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 17.10.2016
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 17.10.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 05.01.2016
Umunna, Chuka Labour Party Streatham 07.11.2016
Warburton, David Conservative Party Somerton and Frome 13.10.2016
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 12.10.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 13.10.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 05.01.2016