Early day motion 488

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses concern about recent findings of high levels of antibiotic-resistant e.coli and MRSA on British supermarket meat, of UK origin; welcomes the commitment of the Foods Standards Agency to work with UK food retailers to reduce farm antibiotic use and Waitrose's recently updated policy, which prohibits antibiotic prophylaxis, routine preventative use; notes that the systematic overuse of antibiotics in farm animals is contributing to the emergence of antibiotic resistance in human bacterial infections; considers the routine preventative mass-medication of animals to be unacceptable practice; believes that the adoption of higher welfare farming practices must be central to any successful strategy to reduce farm antibiotic use; and calls on all UK supermarkets to adopt a publicly available policy on antibiotic use within their supply chains, prohibiting routine mass-medication of livestock and committing to drastic reductions in farm use of the critically important antibiotics.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 61

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 61 out of 61

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 11.10.2016
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 17.10.2016
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 27.10.2016
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 31.01.2017
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 10.10.2016
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.10.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 21.10.2016
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 27.10.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 01.01.2016
Coyle, Neil Labour Party Bermondsey and Old Southwark 20.02.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 25.10.2016
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 11.10.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 18.10.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 11.10.2016
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 24.10.2016
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 05.01.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.10.2016
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 11.10.2016
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.10.2016
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 27.10.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 27.10.2016
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 01.11.2016
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 03.11.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 24.10.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.10.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.10.2016
Jenkyns, Andrea Conservative Party Morley and Outwood 10.10.2016
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 27.10.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 18.10.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 10.10.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 21.10.2016
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 13.10.2016
Mathias, Tania Conservative Party Twickenham 12.10.2016
McCaig, Callum Scottish National Party Aberdeen South 13.10.2016
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 10.10.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 16.11.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 11.10.2016
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 11.10.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.10.2016
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 12.10.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 24.10.2016
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 12.10.2016
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 20.10.2016
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 12.10.2016
Paterson, Steven Scottish National Party Stirling 20.10.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 10.10.2016
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 12.01.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 11.10.2016
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 21.10.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 11.10.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 11.10.2016
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 03.11.2016
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 11.10.2016
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.10.2016
Spelman, Caroline Conservative Party Meriden 10.10.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 05.01.2016
Warburton, David Conservative Party Somerton and Frome 10.10.2016
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 10.10.2016
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 24.10.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 05.01.2016
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 08.11.2016