Early day motion 474

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is gravely concerned over reports of increasingly repressive treatment of journalists working for newspapers, websites and broadcasters in Turkey; notes that a recently published decree ordered the closure of 131 media organisations, including three news agencies, 16 television channels, 23 radio stations, 45 daily newspapers, 15 magazines and 29 publishing houses; further notes that, under the country's state of emergency, the authorities can hold suspects in detention without charge for 30 days, with journalists frequently detained without arrest warrants; and calls on the Government and the Council of Europe's Platform for the Protection of Journalists to raise these violations of press freedoms with the Turkish authorities.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 27.10.2016
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.10.2016
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 15.09.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 21.10.2016
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 25.10.2016
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 25.10.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 12.10.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 10.10.2016
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 11.10.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.09.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 11.10.2016
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 13.10.2016
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.10.2016
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 15.09.2016
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 01.11.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 24.10.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.10.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.10.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 21.10.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.01.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 21.10.2016
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 10.10.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 16.11.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 10.10.2016
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 12.10.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 21.10.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 15.09.2016
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 21.10.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 15.09.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 10.10.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 15.09.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 12.10.2016
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 10.10.2016