Early day motion 473

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that the current staff disciplinary procedures in the NHS are flawed, outdated and require substantial reform; notes that while the disciplinary and capability procedures for doctors and dentists are set out in the national Maintaining High Professional Standards framework, procedures for all other NHS staff can be drawn up by individual employers; further believes that this disparity of treatment between the healthcare professions cannot be justified; further notes, with concern, that many staff are denied a fair disciplinary procedure, in particular BME staff and whistleblowers, who are often suspended, dismissed or otherwise treated unfairly after speaking out against wrongdoing or malpractice for the sake of patient safety; notes that fair and robust disciplinary processes are essential to safeguard staff wellbeing and patient safety in the NHS, and that the flaws in the current system result in distress to NHS staff, wastage of taxpayers' money and miscarriages of justice; welcomes the Secretary of State for Health's acknowledgment in the House on 9 March 2016 that a culture change in the NHS must also extend to trust disciplinary procedures; and therefore calls on the Government to initiate a review of staff disciplinary policies and procedures to address these concerns, and issue recommendations for reform.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 10.10.2016
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.10.2016
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 10.10.2016
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 10.10.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 10.10.2016
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 25.10.2016
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 02.11.2016
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 10.10.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 12.10.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.10.2016
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.10.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 10.10.2016
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 11.10.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.10.2016
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 15.09.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.01.2016
Mactaggart, Fiona Labour Party Slough 17.10.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 08.03.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.10.2016
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 10.10.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 10.10.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 11.10.2016
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 10.10.2016
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 03.11.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 13.10.2016