Early day motion 448

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the audio file of Ayatollah Montrazeri, former heir to Khomeini, in 1988, reveals new evidence about the massacre of more than 30,000 political prisoners in Iran's prisons in the summer of 1988 including women and children and all political prisoners who supported the opposition movement of the People's Mujahedin of Iran (PMOI); understands that the massacre was carried out following a fatwa by the Supreme Leader Khomeini, who ordered all political prisoners loyal of the PMOI to be immediately executed; is concerned by Montazeri's comments that this was the biggest crime that has occurred in the Islamic Republic and that the world will not forgive us for this crime; agrees that the impunity of the authorities of the Iranian regime in the past three decades is the main cause for continuation of these crimes in Iran; endorses the survivors' account that those in charge of the massacre go unpunished and are currently appointed in high positions of the lranian government including Mostafa Pourmohammadi, Minister of Justice, and Hossein Ali Nayeri, Head of Administrative Court for the Judges; urges the Government to recognise and condemn this brutal massacre as a crime against humanity and ask the UN Human Rights Commissioner, Human Rights Council, the General Assembly and the Security Council to order an investigation and bring the perpetrators to justice.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 80

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 80 out of 80

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 13.09.2016
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 02.11.2016
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 11.10.2016
Bellingham, Henry Conservative Party North West Norfolk 11.10.2016
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 16.11.2016
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 14.09.2016
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 10.10.2016
Bridgen, Andrew Conservative Party North West Leicestershire 11.10.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 02.11.2016
Campbell, Alan Labour Party Tynemouth 11.10.2016
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 11.10.2016
Carmichael, Neil Conservative Party Stroud 11.10.2016
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 11.10.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 10.10.2016
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 02.11.2016
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 25.10.2016
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 11.10.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 12.10.2016
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 11.10.2016
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 11.10.2016
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 11.10.2016
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 14.09.2016
Dromey, Jack Labour Party Birmingham Erdington 11.10.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.09.2016
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 11.10.2016
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 11.10.2016
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 15.09.2016
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 15.09.2016
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 11.10.2016
Grieve, Dominic Conservative Party Beaconsfield 11.10.2016
Hanson, David Labour Party Delyn 11.10.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 02.11.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.10.2016
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 11.10.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.10.2016
Howell, John Conservative Party Henley 11.10.2016
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 11.10.2016
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 11.10.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 02.11.2016
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 11.10.2016
McCaig, Callum Scottish National Party Aberdeen South 02.11.2016
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 11.10.2016
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 02.11.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 14.09.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 10.10.2016
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 02.11.2016
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 02.11.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 14.09.2016
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 15.09.2016
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 02.11.2016
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 02.11.2016
Neill, Robert Conservative Party Bromley and Chislehurst 11.10.2016
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 15.09.2016
Parish, Neil Conservative Party Tiverton and Honiton 11.10.2016
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 11.10.2016
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 11.10.2016
Raab, Dominic Conservative Party Esher and Walton 11.10.2016
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 11.10.2016
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 14.09.2016
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 11.10.2016
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.10.2016
Ryan, Joan Labour Party Enfield North 11.10.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 10.10.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 14.09.2016
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 15.09.2016
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 11.10.2016
Smeeth, Ruth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 11.10.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 02.11.2016
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 11.10.2016
Swayne, Desmond Conservative Party New Forest West 11.10.2016
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 11.10.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 02.11.2016
Tracey, Craig Conservative Party North Warwickshire 11.10.2016
Trevelyan, Anne-Marie Conservative Party Berwick-Upon-Tweed 11.10.2016
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 11.10.2016
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 15.09.2016
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 02.11.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 15.09.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 02.11.2016
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 15.09.2016