Early day motion 44

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House joins people with Down’s syndrome, their families and advocacy groups supporting the Don’t Screen Us Out campaign in being deeply concerned that the UK National Screening Committee has proposed that cell-free DNA (cfDNA) testing be introduced into the UK’s Fetal Anomaly Screening Programme (FASP); acknowledges that these proposals are projected to lead to 25 fewer miscarriages, but are also projected to result in 92 more children with Down’s syndrome being terminated each year, given that 90 per cent of babies identified with Down’s syndrome are terminated annually, having a profound and discriminatory effect on the community of people with Down’s syndrome; notes that this violates the UK’s treaty obligations to the UN Convention of the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD); considers that the current lack of non-directional medial support and balanced information for parents whose child is diagnosed with foetal disability constitutes a failure to implement article 23, section 3 of the CRPD which calls for early and comprehensive support for children with Down’s and their families; calls on the Government to delay implementation of cfDNA screening until reforms are introduced that adequately deliver this support; and urges that a formal inquiry be undertaken to ensure the FASP is fully compliant with the CRPD and other relevant disability rights standards.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 25.05.2016
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 23.05.2016
Caulfield, Maria Conservative Party Lewes 07.06.2016
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 10.10.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 24.05.2016
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 27.06.2016
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 24.05.2016
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 07.06.2016
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 20.10.2016
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 16.11.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.05.2016
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 08.06.2016
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 19.05.2016
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 24.05.2016
Fletcher, Colleen Labour Party Coventry North East 18.10.2016
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 18.04.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 25.05.2016
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 05.09.2016
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 07.11.2016
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 09.01.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.05.2016
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 10.10.2016
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 23.05.2016
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 02.11.2016
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 04.07.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 24.05.2016
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 24.05.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 23.05.2016
Timms, Stephen Labour Party East Ham 13.10.2016
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 24.05.2016
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 04.07.2016
Warburton, David Conservative Party Somerton and Frome 24.05.2016
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 18.11.2016
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 06.06.2016