Early day motion 377

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that exposure to residual particles from weaponry containing the radioactive metal depleted uranium (DU), used in the invasions of both Iraq and Afghanistan, continues to produce serious and long-term health problems, not only for Iraqi and Afghani citizens living close to conflict zones, but also for British army personnel who were exposed to the weaponry during those wars; notes that the World Health Organisation (WHO) has indicated that exposure to DU can lead to serious health consequences, including kidney failure, lung damage and lung cancer; understands that, as well as producing damage through the impact of the weaponry, exposure to this radioactive metal can also lead to painful health conditions which can manifest many years after initial exposure, and which become exacerbated over time, before eventually culminating in the fatality of the exposed individual; is aware that the WHO has recommended that clean-up operations are commissioned in conflict zones with high concentrations of DU, and that further research is required to understand the full extent of its potential impact on the health of exposed individuals; and, given the seriousness of its health consequences which we are already aware of, calls on the Government to consider legislating to prohibit the use of DU in the manufacturing of any future weaponry.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 10.10.2016
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 10.10.2016
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 06.09.2016
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 05.09.2016
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 08.09.2016
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 07.09.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.10.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.09.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 05.09.2016
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 15.09.2016
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 15.09.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 12.10.2016
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 07.09.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 10.10.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.10.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 12.09.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 10.10.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 10.10.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 08.09.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.09.2016
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 06.09.2016
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 21.07.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 15.09.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 24.10.2016
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 05.09.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 06.09.2016
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 07.09.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.09.2016
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 10.10.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 05.09.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 10.10.2016
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West 21.07.2016
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 07.09.2016