Early day motion 304

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates all those who are employed in producing content for the BBC Parliament Channel for doubling its viewing figures over recent years; appreciates the hard work that goes into providing live and recorded coverage of the parliaments and assemblies across the UK and the European Parliament, together with the production of a range of original programmes and curation of the BBC archive exploring parliament and politics; regrets that the commitment of the BBC journalists who have worked hard to achieve this success is not being properly recognised by BBC management; notes that staff with comparable editorial responsibilities on BBC News Channel or BBC World are categorised as Broadcast Journalists on Grade 7 of the staffing structure, whilst their equivalents working on BBC Parliament are counted as Broadcast Assistants on Grade 5; believes that staff at BBC Parliament deserve equal status and recognition as their counterparts producing equivalent output; and calls on BBC management to value the commitment of its staff by recognising their skills and re-grading them accordingly.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 46

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 46 out of 46

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 05.09.2016
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 20.07.2016
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 14.07.2016
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.07.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 21.07.2016
Bryant, Chris Labour Party Rhondda 06.02.2017
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 05.09.2016
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 11.07.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 19.07.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 11.07.2016
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 21.07.2016
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 20.07.2016
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 18.07.2016
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 19.07.2016
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.07.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.07.2016
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 11.07.2016
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 05.09.2016
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 18.07.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 05.09.2016
Jones, Graham Labour Party Hyndburn 11.07.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 18.07.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 18.07.2016
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 20.07.2016
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 05.09.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 13.07.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 14.07.2016
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 05.09.2016
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 20.07.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.07.2016
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 20.07.2016
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 05.09.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 06.09.2016
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 19.07.2016
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 11.07.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 12.07.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.07.2016
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 20.07.2016
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 21.07.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 12.07.2016
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 05.09.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 12.07.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 21.07.2016
Umunna, Chuka Labour Party Streatham 12.09.2016
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 13.07.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 13.07.2016