Early day motion 278

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the petition on the change.org website, entitled Restore truthful politics - create an independent office to monitor political campaigns; notes that this petition has gained more than 160,000 signatures since it was launched following the EU referendum; agrees that misleading claims put forward during the referendum campaign undermine the integrity of our democratic system; supports the call for the establishment of an independent Office of Electoral Integrity (OEI) to factually verify the truthfulness of claims made during political campaigns, with powers to issue clarifications and fines where appropriate; believes that this will help to ensure that future elections and referenda are contested on the basis of accurate and verifiable facts, strengthen accountability in political campaigning in the UK and restore faith in the democratic process; and urges the Government to consider the merits of creating an OEI and to provide a response to the petition as soon as possible.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 50

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 50 out of 50

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allin-Khan, Rosena Labour Party Tooting 21.07.2016
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 14.07.2016
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 07.07.2016
Brennan, Kevin Labour Party Cardiff West 19.07.2016
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 05.07.2016
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.07.2016
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 04.07.2016
Cooper, Julie Labour Party Burnley 19.07.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 05.09.2016
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.10.2016
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 20.07.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 05.07.2016
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 10.10.2016
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 12.07.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 06.07.2016
Elmore, Chris Labour Party Ogmore 12.07.2016
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 11.07.2016
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 06.07.2016
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 07.02.2017
Fletcher, Colleen Labour Party Coventry North East 07.07.2016
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 21.07.2016
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.07.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 06.07.2016
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 11.07.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 06.07.2016
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 12.07.2016
Jones, Graham Labour Party Hyndburn 19.07.2016
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 04.07.2016
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 04.07.2016
Lewell-Buck, Emma Labour Party South Shields 13.07.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 06.09.2016
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 05.09.2016
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 19.07.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 04.07.2016
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 05.09.2016
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 05.07.2016
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 14.07.2016
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 07.07.2016
Reed, Jamie Labour Party Copeland 07.07.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 07.07.2016
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 13.07.2016
Smeeth, Ruth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 11.07.2016
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 19.07.2016
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 11.07.2016
Thomas-Symonds, Nick Labour Party Torfaen 05.09.2016
Umunna, Chuka Labour Party Streatham 11.07.2016
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 13.07.2016
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 11.07.2016
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 13.07.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 07.07.2016