Early day motion 195

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that chronic pain is identified as a condition in its own right, and that the measured prevalence of chronic pain varies according to precisely how it is defined and identified; further notes that the cited figure is 20 per cent, or 1 in 5, of the European population and that 1 in 20 of our population live with severe pain with a quarter of these in severe, intense and highly disabling chronic pain; notes that this figure is probably the closest to the clinically relevant prevalence of chronic pain and is roughly equivalent to the prevalence of heart disease, diabetes, major depression and other severe long-term illnesses; notes that there are an estimated 4.6 million GP appointments per year for chronic pain in the UK costing £69 million, which equates to 793 full-time GPs; notes that chronic pain sufferers attend their GP five times more frequently than those without and that the most common sites of chronic pain are the back and joints, with chronic pain lasting more than five years; and notes that the overall quality of life in the presence of chronic pain is shown to very low and all dimensions of health, including physical, psychological and social are shown to be severely reduced with a 10 year mortality, higher among those with severe chronic pain, particularly death from heart of respiratory disease which is twice the rate of those without severe chronic pain.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 68

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 68 out of 68

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 04.07.2016
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 04.07.2016
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 16.01.2017
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 18.04.2017
Bone, Peter Conservative Party Wellingborough 12.07.2016
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 10.10.2016
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 18.01.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 16.01.2017
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 15.06.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 30.06.2016
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 23.01.2017
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow 04.07.2016
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 15.06.2016
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 05.09.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 04.07.2016
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 04.07.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 05.07.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 14.06.2016
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 10.10.2016
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 28.06.2016
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 14.06.2016
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 06.07.2016
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 30.06.2016
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 28.06.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 13.06.2016
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 12.01.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 14.06.2016
Elliott, Tom Ulster Unionist Party Fermanagh and South Tyrone 06.07.2016
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 05.09.2016
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 09.01.2017
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 27.06.2016
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 09.01.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 12.10.2016
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 20.07.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 05.09.2016
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 27.06.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 29.06.2016
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 06.07.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.06.2016
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 09.01.2017
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian 12.09.2016
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 16.01.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 27.06.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 27.06.2016
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 28.06.2016
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 20.06.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 15.06.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 14.06.2016
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 28.06.2016
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 27.06.2016
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 05.09.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 21.07.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 28.06.2016
Olney, Sarah Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 16.01.2017
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 13.09.2016
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 05.07.2016
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 29.06.2016
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 19.07.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 14.06.2016
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 13.06.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.06.2016
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 12.09.2016
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 05.09.2016
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 14.06.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 14.06.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 04.07.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 04.07.2016
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 27.06.2016