Early day motion 175

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that 8 June 2016 marks the fourth anniversary of the UK Government becoming a signatory to the Istanbul Convention on violence against women and girls; expresses disappointment that the Government, despite outlining their commitment to do so several times, has still failed to ratify this important convention; recognises that women still face a significant amount of inequality, with one in four women experiencing some form of domestic, sexual or psychological abuse during their lifetimes; further notes that ratifying the Istanbul Convention should ensure that a series of preventative policies will be introduced to help tackle and end violence against women, such as non-violent conflict resolution in relationships and the right to personal integrity being included in school curricula at all levels; congratulates the campaign group ICchange for their continuing work in applying pressure on the Government to ratify the convention; and calls on the Government to accede to this pressure and ensure ratification as soon as possible.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 47

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 47 out of 47

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 08.06.2016
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 08.06.2016
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 13.06.2016
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 08.06.2016
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.06.2016
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 08.06.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 27.06.2016
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 20.06.2016
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 08.06.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 08.06.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 13.06.2016
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 13.06.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 09.06.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 08.06.2016
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 13.06.2016
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 15.06.2016
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 08.06.2016
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 14.06.2016
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 14.06.2016
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 08.06.2016
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 08.06.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.06.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 08.06.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 13.06.2016
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 08.06.2016
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 08.06.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 15.06.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 14.06.2016
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 08.06.2016
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 09.06.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.06.2016
Miller, Maria Conservative Party Basingstoke 08.06.2016
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 13.06.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 08.06.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 20.06.2016
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 08.06.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 08.06.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 14.06.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 09.06.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 13.06.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 08.06.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 13.06.2016
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West 08.06.2016
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 13.06.2016
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 08.06.2016
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 08.06.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 08.06.2016