Early day motion 140

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the delay in introducing a new power of guardianship for the families of missing persons that was announced by the Minister of State for Justice, Lord Faulks QC; further notes the unnecessary distress caused to the families of missing people when financial institutions insist that they will only deal with the missing client, which greatly exacerbates the emotional trauma they experience because their loved one is missing, and how this could be resolved by the introduction of guardianship provisions; and calls on the Government urgently to commit to a parliamentary timetable for introducing legislation to allow a family member to apply for the legal right to manage the affairs of their missing relative.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bellingham, Henry Conservative Party North West Norfolk 30.11.2016
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 07.06.2016
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 06.06.2016
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.10.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 15.12.2016
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 27.02.2017
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 07.11.2016
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 14.06.2016
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 05.12.2016
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 15.12.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 15.06.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.06.2016
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 19.01.2017
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 21.07.2016
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 05.09.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 08.06.2016
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 02.12.2016
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.06.2016
Smith, Owen Labour Party Pontypridd 21.11.2016
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 13.06.2016