Early day motion 123

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is shocked by comments made by Cathy Warwick, Chief Executive of the Royal College of Midwives (RCM), in the Daily Telegraph on 20 May 2016, in which she dogmatically states that abortion is part of the role of a midwife; notes with concern that Cathy Warwick announced at a conference organised by abortion provider British Pregnancy Advisory Service, for whom she is also Chair of Trustees, that she seeks to educate midwives who are too focused on women having babies rather than terminations and gave details on how to get around the Abortion Act 1967; recalls that, without consultation with members or the RCM board, Cathy Warwick has put the name of the RCM to a radical campaign to remove all legal restrictions on abortion, which would permit abortion to birth for any reason; further notes that UK polling in 2012 showed that only two per cent of women wanted the abortion time limit to be extended to more than 24 weeks, let alone birth; recognises that 40,000 people have signed a petition and over 900 midwives have signed an open letter to the RCM, to voice their overwhelming disappointment and anger at the RCM; and calls for the immediate resignation of Cathy Warwick in the interests of the reputation of the RCM.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 15

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 15 out of 15

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Aldous, Peter Conservative Party Waveney 14.06.2016
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 04.07.2016
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 08.06.2016
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 08.06.2016
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 07.06.2016
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 27.06.2016
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 26.05.2016
Fox, Liam Conservative Party North Somerset 08.06.2016
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 07.09.2016
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 08.06.2016
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 06.06.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.06.2016
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.06.2016
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 21.07.2016
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 08.06.2016