Early day motion 1108

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House commends the People's Assembly Fife on its report on transition from ESA to JSA; understands that volunteers from the People's Assembly Fife undertook a project over the course of 2016 aimed at advising people who faced benefit sanctions and that this involved speaking to claimants at Kirkcaldy Jobcentre Plus who were transitioning to jobseeker's allowance (JSA) after failing the work capability assessment (WCA); further understands that, according to the report, volunteers spoke to approximately 400 people, of whom 25 per cent were transitioning from employment and support allowance (ESA) to JSA after failing the WCA; notes that the report found very significant gaps in time between claimants receiving their last ESA payment and their first JSA payment and that most were still waiting for their claim to be processed; further notes, from the report, that claimants said they had been waiting for as long as 12 weeks to receive a JSA payment, that most claimants had no other source of income, and that some said that they were begging or relying on family members or the local foodbank for food, and that none of the claimants spoken to by volunteers were aware that they could request an advance payment; and considers it imperative that the Government should ensure that the transition from ESA to JSA is seamless and that claimants should not be left without any source of income while transitioning between the two benefits.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 26

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 26 out of 26

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 30.03.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 30.03.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 30.03.2017
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.03.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 18.04.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 18.04.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 18.04.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 29.03.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 29.03.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 28.03.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 24.03.2017
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 28.03.2017
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 27.03.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 29.03.2017
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 30.03.2017
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 23.03.2017
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 26.04.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 27.03.2017
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.03.2017
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 18.04.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 28.03.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 29.03.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 24.03.2017
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 18.04.2017
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 28.03.2017
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 30.03.2017