Early day motion 11

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the support expressed during the 2015-16 parliamentary session to address the issues faced by people whose identities are neither male nor female; believes that people are compromised and diminished as a result of inappropriate gender references on their personal identity information; acknowledges that all passports issued by HM Passport Office are currently gender-specific and it is therefore not possible to obtain a British passport that contains no reference to gendered identity; understands that the International Civil Aviation Organisation standard specification for machine-readable travel documents, ICAO Document 9303, permits X (unspecified) alongside F (female) and M (male) under a mandatory sex category; notes that citizens of Australia and New Zealand are able to obtain a non gender-specific X passport and that India, Nepal and Pakistan make provision for their citizens when neither M nor F are appropriate; further believes that similar provision is needed in the UK where current discriminatory policy denies non-gendered and bi-gendered people a legitimate identity; and therefore urges the Government and HM Passport Office to make non gender-specific X passports available in the UK to people who do not identify with a particular gender.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 86

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 86 out of 86

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 06.06.2016
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 08.06.2016
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 06.06.2016
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 09.01.2017
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 20.04.2017
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 04.07.2016
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 24.03.2017
Blunt, Crispin Conservative Party Reigate 15.06.2016
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 13.07.2016
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.05.2016
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 05.09.2016
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 26.05.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 08.06.2016
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 09.06.2016
Bryant, Chris Labour Party Rhondda 19.01.2017
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 23.05.2016
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.05.2016
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 23.05.2016
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 25.05.2016
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 28.03.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 29.06.2016
Coyle, Neil Labour Party Bermondsey and Old Southwark 10.10.2016
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 31.01.2017
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 08.06.2016
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 20.07.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.12.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 23.05.2016
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 19.05.2016
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 13.03.2017
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 25.01.2017
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 21.07.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 03.11.2016
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 06.06.2016
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 25.05.2016
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 28.06.2016
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 24.05.2016
Fletcher, Colleen Labour Party Coventry North East 28.06.2016
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 24.05.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 08.06.2016
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 23.05.2016
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 06.02.2017
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 25.05.2016
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 01.03.2017
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 14.09.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 13.03.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 13.03.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 08.12.2016
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 16.03.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 24.05.2016
Huq, Rupa Labour Party Ealing Central and Acton 24.05.2016
Kerr, Calum Scottish National Party Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 06.06.2016
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 23.05.2016
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 18.05.2016
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 08.06.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 06.06.2016
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 02.03.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.05.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 24.05.2016
McCaig, Callum Scottish National Party Aberdeen South 13.10.2016
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 29.06.2016
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 23.05.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 19.05.2016
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 23.05.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.05.2016
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 09.01.2017
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 19.05.2016
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 25.05.2016
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 19.05.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 08.12.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 23.05.2016
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 19.05.2016
Reed, Jamie Labour Party Copeland 09.06.2016
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 19.05.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.05.2016
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 28.06.2016
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 13.09.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 18.05.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 24.05.2016
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West 24.05.2016
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 07.12.2016
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 23.05.2016
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 20.12.2016
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 08.09.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 05.09.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 06.02.2017
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 13.06.2016