Early day motion 1063

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that police officers often place themselves in the way of harm to protect their communities, sometimes making the ultimate sacrifice and leaving behind families and loved ones; is deeply concerned that the Police Pension Regulations 1987 do not allow police widows or widowers the opportunity to marry or cohabit, without losing their right to a police widows or widowers pension for life; agrees with the Police Federation of England and Wales that it is morally and ethically regrettable to make police widows and widowers and their dependents effectively choose between future financial security and the possibility of future personal happiness; welcomes the fact that the Police Pension Regulations 2006 allow new entrants or serving officers to transfer to a new scheme which permits their survivors to access benefits which are payable for life regardless of whether they remarry; regrets that nevertheless many police widows and widowers still remain disadvantaged by the Police Pensions Regulations 1987; calls on the Government urgently to review the situation; and notes that this would achieve parity with police widows and widowers in Northern Ireland and military widows in all parts of the UK.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 35

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 35 out of 35

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 21.03.2017
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 20.03.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 14.03.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 21.03.2017
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 18.04.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 14.03.2017
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 15.03.2017
Elliott, Tom Ulster Unionist Party Fermanagh and South Tyrone 20.03.2017
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 18.04.2017
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 19.04.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 14.03.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 21.03.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 28.03.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 22.03.2017
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 20.03.2017
Lefroy, Jeremy Conservative Party Stafford 22.03.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 21.03.2017
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 26.04.2017
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 30.03.2017
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 18.04.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.03.2017
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 16.03.2017
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 15.03.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 20.03.2017
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 20.04.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 15.03.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 15.03.2017
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 28.03.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 21.03.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 16.03.2017
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 26.04.2017
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 16.03.2017
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 14.03.2017
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 27.03.2017
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 20.03.2017