Early day motion 1049

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that Lena Hendry, a human rights activist in Malaysia, faces up to three years in prison and a fine of up to £5,500 for screening No Fire Zone: The Killing Fields of Sri Lanka, an Emmy-nominated Channel 4 documentary, extracts of which have been screened in the House and in the UN, which exposes the shocking war crimes committed at the end of the war in Sri Lanka; further notes that in February 2017, Lena Hendry was found guilty of screening the film in Kuala Lumpur in 2013, allegedly in breach of Malaysia's censorship laws, and is due to be sentenced on 22 March 2017; notes with concern that the Malaysian authorities raided the screening in 2013 and arrested Ms Hendry after coming under pressure from the then Sri Lankan Government under former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, who has since been voted out; and calls on the Foreign and Commonwealth Office to make representations to the Malaysian Government to intervene in sentencing and reverse Ms Hendry's conviction.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 20.03.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 13.03.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 20.03.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 14.03.2017
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 13.03.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 20.03.2017
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 20.03.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 22.03.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 22.03.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.03.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 21.03.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 20.03.2017
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 13.03.2017
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 14.03.2017
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 15.03.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.03.2017
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 16.03.2017
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 20.03.2017
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 24.03.2017
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 14.03.2017
Ryan, Joan Labour Party Enfield North 13.03.2017
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 20.03.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 14.03.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 14.03.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 16.03.2017