Early day motion 1031

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with grave concern a recent report on the present condition of the RMS Queen Mary, permanently moored as a tourist attraction in California, that outlines a catalogue of faults which, unless addressed, could lead to the vessel being mothballed within a decade; believes that the historic Clydebank-built ocean liner is a testament to Scotland's rich industrial prowess and is one of the world's most iconic and historical vessels and should be protected as such; expresses its disappointment that the city authority of Long Beach has failed to carry out its duty of preserving and maintaining the vessel to the high standard that it was received in; calls on the Government to use its influence and urge the US Administration to intervene to bring about an end to this historic vandalism; recognises the part played by the RMS Queen Mary known as the Grey Ghost during World War II as troop carrier transporting 765,429 Allied troops; and further calls on the international community to come together and protect this global icon from being destroyed.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 08.03.2017
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 08.03.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 08.03.2017
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 29.03.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 08.03.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 14.03.2017
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 08.03.2017
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 13.03.2017
Elliott, Tom Ulster Unionist Party Fermanagh and South Tyrone 20.03.2017
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 13.03.2017
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 20.03.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 22.03.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 13.03.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.03.2017
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian 08.03.2017
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 20.03.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 15.03.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 20.03.2017
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 14.03.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 13.03.2017
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 09.03.2017
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 20.03.2017
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 08.03.2017
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 24.03.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 21.03.2017
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 14.03.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 15.03.2017
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 20.03.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.03.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 14.03.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 08.03.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 08.03.2017
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 22.03.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 16.03.2017