Early day motion 974

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the growing crisis of low pay and precarity in a labour market increasingly characterised by casualised forms of employment that offer little in the way of pay, predictable hours or long-term security; further notes the evident inability of our bureaucratically costly social security system, with its dependence on means-testing and often arbitrary sanctions, to provide an adequate income floor; believes that a Basic Income, an unconditional, non-withdrawable income paid to everyone, has the potential to offer genuine social security to all while boosting entrepreneurialism and the creation of small businesses; welcomes the ongoing exploration of the concept of a Basic Income by the thinktank Compass, the innovation charity Nesta, the Royal Society of Arts, and others; further welcomes the planned practical experiments in Finland and the Netherlands; and calls on the Government to fund and commission further research into the possibilities offered by the various Basic Income models, their feasibility, their potential to guarantee additional help for those who need it most, and how the complex economic and social challenges of introducing a Basic Income might be met.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 35

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 35 out of 35

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 01.02.2016
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 22.01.2016
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 20.01.2016
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 01.02.2016
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 21.01.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 20.01.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 13.04.2016
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 01.03.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 25.01.2016
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 02.03.2016
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 26.01.2016
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 28.01.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 19.04.2016
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 19.01.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 22.01.2016
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 27.01.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.01.2016
Huq, Rupa Labour Party Ealing Central and Acton 16.03.2016
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian 01.02.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 21.01.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.01.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 25.01.2016
McCaig, Callum Scottish National Party Aberdeen South 27.01.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 27.01.2016
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 10.02.2016
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 20.01.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 22.01.2016
Paterson, Steven Scottish National Party Stirling 25.01.2016
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 25.01.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 27.01.2016
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 25.01.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 20.01.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 21.01.2016
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West 18.04.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 04.02.2016