Early day motion 464

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that the public health case for including adolescent boys, as well as girls, in the national HPV vaccination programme is now irrefutable because it is the only certain way of protecting both sexes against a range of cancers, genital warts and recurrent respiratory papillomatosis; considers that the current girls-only programme is inequitable and unfair as it leaves many males at risk and females to carry the burden of responsibility for vaccination; notes that gender-neutral vaccination has very wide support, including from the 40 member organisations of HPV Action, the BMA, Jo's Cervical Cancer Trust and the wide range of individual clinicians, scientists and other experts who recently signed an HPV Action statement calling for gender-neutral vaccination; further believes that the current timescale for a decision in 2017 on vaccinating both sexes is far too long; and calls on the Government to introduce HPV vaccination for both sexes as soon as possible.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 23

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 23 out of 23

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 10.11.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.09.2015
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 09.03.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 29.01.2016
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 11.02.2016
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 03.02.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.10.2015
Elliott, Tom Ulster Unionist Party Fermanagh and South Tyrone 16.09.2015
Fletcher, Colleen Labour Party Coventry North East 19.01.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 18.11.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 13.10.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.10.2015
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 16.09.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 17.09.2015
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.05.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.10.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 02.11.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 13.10.2015
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 26.10.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 09.05.2016
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 13.01.2016
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 09.05.2016
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 04.11.2015