Early day motion 427

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern that a number of postmasters have been forced to pay back thousands of pounds, or have been prosecuted or imprisoned, solely on the basis of questionable data indicating cash shortfalls from the Post Office Horizon computer system introduced in 2000; further notes that the BBC Panorama investigation on 17 August 2015, entitled Trouble at the Post Office, demonstrated the damaging effect this has had on the lives of the postmasters involved; acknowledges that the report by forensic accountants Second Sight into claims many sub-postmasters were wrongly accused raises serious questions about the integrity of the Horizon system; expresses disappointment with the dismissive response from the Post Office to the findings of the Second Sight report; notes the concerns raised by the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee in the last Parliament in a letter to the Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills, dated 17 March 2015, about the approach of the Post Office to the subsequent mediation scheme; notes the Prime Minister's comment on 1 July 2015, Official Report, column 1477, that the internal inquiry by the Post Office has not satisfied many hon. Members on both sides of the House; commends the work of the former hon. Member for North Hampshire, James Arbuthnot, for consistently raising this important issue in the last Parliament; and urges the Government to establish a full independent judicial inquiry.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 40

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 40 out of 40

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 14.09.2015
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 14.09.2015
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 04.11.2015
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 11.09.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.09.2015
Bridgen, Andrew Conservative Party North West Leicestershire 12.10.2015
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 12.10.2015
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 17.09.2015
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.05.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.09.2015
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 12.10.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.09.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 15.09.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 14.09.2015
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 20.10.2015
Haigh, Louise Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 12.10.2015
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 11.09.2015
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 12.10.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 13.10.2015
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 10.09.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.09.2015
Knight, Greg Conservative Party Yorkshire East 13.10.2015
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 14.09.2015
Lewell-Buck, Emma Labour Party South Shields 14.10.2015
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 17.09.2015
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 14.09.2015
Matheson, Chris Labour Party City of Chester 14.09.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 10.09.2015
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 17.09.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 26.10.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 14.09.2015
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 15.09.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 11.09.2015
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 11.09.2015
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 14.09.2015
Thomas, Gareth (Harrow West) Labour Party Harrow West 10.09.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 10.09.2015
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 26.11.2015
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 14.09.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 15.09.2015