Early day motion 373

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the science-based campaign, For Life On Earth, which is critical of avoidable experiments on animals; further notes the new initiative, Patients Campaigning For Cures, which opposes animal models on medical grounds; is alarmed that scientific studies reveal that the widespread claimed ability of animals to predict human responses to drugs and disease is demonstrably false; acknowledges that over 90 per cent of drugs which test well in animals harm or otherwise fail humans, and that ignoring this has delayed cures including penicillin; notes that using animals to model humans contradicts currently accepted science, including evolutionary biology and genetics, which supports personalised medical care; further acknowledges the proclamation of the Concordat on Openness on Animal Research to develop communications with the media and public; and calls for thorough, properly moderated public scientific debate on the misleading and costly practice of trying to apply results from animal experiments to human patients.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 61

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 61 out of 61

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 17.12.2015
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 12.10.2015
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 23.10.2015
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 05.01.2016
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 12.10.2015
Butler, Dawn Labour Party Brent Central 25.04.2016
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow 18.11.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.10.2015
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 08.12.2015
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 12.10.2015
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 22.10.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.10.2015
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 03.11.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 03.05.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 12.10.2015
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 19.04.2016
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 17.12.2015
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 14.10.2015
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 11.05.2016
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 16.09.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.01.2016
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 01.02.2016
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 10.05.2016
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 20.10.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 15.09.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.09.2015
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 12.10.2015
Hanson, David Labour Party Delyn 21.10.2015
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 14.12.2015
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 22.10.2015
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 22.10.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.09.2015
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 12.10.2015
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 12.10.2015
Knight, Greg Conservative Party Yorkshire East 19.10.2015
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 19.10.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.10.2015
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 25.04.2016
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 04.12.2015
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 17.09.2015
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 14.09.2015
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 23.10.2015
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 03.05.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.09.2015
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 03.11.2015
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 05.05.2016
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 11.05.2016
Paterson, Steven Scottish National Party Stirling 17.12.2015
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 12.10.2015
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 28.10.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 26.10.2015
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 12.10.2015
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 26.10.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 16.12.2015
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 25.04.2016
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 03.02.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 27.04.2016
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 15.09.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 12.10.2015
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 12.01.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 10.12.2015