Early day motion 36

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the value of the tourism sector; notes that tourism-related businesses lie at the heart of the local community and economy; further notes that 25 out of 28 EU states, including the Republic of Ireland, take advantage of a reduced rate of VAT for some part of their tourism sector, and that this has made a positive impact by increasing investment and jobs; acknowledges that, as a result, localities in the UK that have a high reliance on the tourism sector are at a competitive disadvantage compared to other EU states; highlights the economic study produced by Professor Adam Blake, using the Treasury's own modelling technique, which showed that a cut in tourism VAT could increase gross domestic product by up to £4 billion per year; calls on the Chancellor of the Exchequer to introduce a sector-specific VAT reduction for certain tourism-related products, including accommodation, food and attractions; further notes that a reduced rate of VAT for tourism has been recommended by both the Welsh and Culture, Media and Sport Committees; and further recognises that such a move would provide a much needed boost in exports, would strengthen the wider economy, support job creation and generate investment in local businesses.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 47

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 47 out of 47

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 03.06.2015
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 04.06.2015
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 08.06.2015
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 03.06.2015
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 03.06.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 27.05.2015
Bridgen, Andrew Conservative Party North West Leicestershire 15.06.2015
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 09.06.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 03.06.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.06.2015
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.05.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 01.06.2015
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 03.06.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 01.06.2015
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 03.06.2015
Elliott, Tom Ulster Unionist Party Fermanagh and South Tyrone 17.06.2015
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 30.10.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 04.06.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.06.2015
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 16.07.2015
Harris, Carolyn Labour Party Swansea East 15.07.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 03.06.2015
Jones, Gerald Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 15.07.2015
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 23.06.2015
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 03.06.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 27.05.2015
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 28.05.2015
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 03.06.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.06.2015
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 01.07.2015
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 24.06.2015
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 03.06.2015
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 27.05.2015
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 04.06.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 27.05.2015
Robertson, Laurence Conservative Party Tewkesbury 04.06.2015
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 02.06.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 18.06.2015
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 03.06.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 27.05.2015
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 02.06.2015
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 11.06.2015
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 02.06.2015
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 02.06.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 03.06.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 27.05.2015
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 03.06.2015