Early day motion 294

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the increase in the participation of working class students in higher education since maintenance grants were reintroduced; condemns the proposal to cut grants as a direct attack on the poorest people accessing higher education in England; further notes that the transition from a subsidy to a loan will push the poorest into the highest level of debt; and urges the Government to halt these plans in favour of a system whereby students can access more generous grants in order to cover the rising costs of living.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 65

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 65 out of 65

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 13.07.2015
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 14.07.2015
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 20.07.2015
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 20.07.2015
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 07.09.2015
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 15.09.2015
Burgon, Richard Labour Party Leeds East 13.07.2015
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 07.09.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 15.07.2015
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 19.01.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 07.09.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.07.2015
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 08.09.2015
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 20.07.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 16.07.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 14.07.2015
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 14.07.2015
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 16.07.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 15.07.2015
Foxcroft, Vicky Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 20.07.2015
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 07.09.2015
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 07.09.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 20.07.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 20.07.2015
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 07.09.2015
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 21.07.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 14.07.2015
Hollern, Kate Labour Party Blackburn 20.07.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.07.2015
Huq, Rupa Labour Party Ealing Central and Acton 13.04.2016
Hussain, Imran Labour Party Bradford East 20.07.2015
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 20.07.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 13.07.2015
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 16.07.2015
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 20.07.2015
Long Bailey, Rebecca Labour Party Salford and Eccles 20.07.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 20.07.2015
Madders, Justin Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 20.07.2015
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 07.09.2015
McDonald, Andy Labour Party Middlesbrough 14.07.2015
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 21.07.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.07.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 16.07.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.07.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 14.07.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 20.07.2015
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 15.07.2015
Osamor, Kate Labour Party Edmonton 15.07.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 20.07.2015
Rayner, Angela Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 20.07.2015
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 20.07.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 20.07.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 14.07.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 14.07.2015
Sherriff, Paula Labour Party Dewsbury 20.07.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 14.07.2015
Smith, Cat Labour Party Lancaster and Fleetwood 13.07.2015
Smith, Jeff Labour Party Manchester Withington 07.09.2015
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 14.07.2015
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 15.07.2015
Thomson, Michelle Scottish National Party Edinburgh West 16.07.2015
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 20.07.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 07.09.2015
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 20.07.2015
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 16.07.2015