Early day motion 279

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is dismayed that the Prime Minister has extended an official invitation to Egyptian President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi to visit the UK; notes that, as a member of the then ruling Supreme Council of the Armed Forces, President el-Sisi supported the dissolution of the Egyptian parliament in 2012 and overthrew elected President Mohamed Morsi in a military coup in 2013; further notes that Mr Morsi is one of hundreds of opponents of President el-Sisi condemned to death in trials widely recognised by international human rights organisations as unfair; believes that the extension of an official invitation to President el-Sisi sends a message to the Egyptian regime that such abuses will be tolerated by the Government; is concerned that the Government continues to license the export of military and security equipment to Egypt; and calls on the Prime Minister to rescind the invitation, to put pressure on the Egyptian government to take immediate steps to demonstrate its commitment to democratic freedoms and human rights, including the revocation of all death sentences, and to stop licensing equipment for export to the Egyptian military and security forces.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 52

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 52 out of 52

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 20.07.2015
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 14.07.2015
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 21.07.2015
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 02.11.2015
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 07.09.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 15.07.2015
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 04.11.2015
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 21.07.2015
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 08.09.2015
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 07.09.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 09.07.2015
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 14.07.2015
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 13.07.2015
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 15.07.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 09.07.2015
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 09.07.2015
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 26.10.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 15.07.2015
Foxcroft, Vicky Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 21.07.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 16.07.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 14.07.2015
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 20.07.2015
Haigh, Louise Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 08.09.2015
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 07.09.2015
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 20.07.2015
Kerr, Calum Scottish National Party Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 20.07.2015
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 16.07.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.07.2015
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 20.07.2015
Mactaggart, Fiona Labour Party Slough 29.10.2015
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 07.09.2015
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 07.09.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.07.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.07.2015
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 17.09.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 13.07.2015
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 21.07.2015
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 12.10.2015
Osamor, Kate Labour Party Edmonton 19.10.2015
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 17.09.2015
Pennycook, Matthew Labour Party Greenwich and Woolwich 12.10.2015
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 12.10.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 13.07.2015
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 14.07.2015
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.09.2015
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 12.10.2015
Smith, Cat Labour Party Lancaster and Fleetwood 20.07.2015
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 20.07.2015
Thomson, Michelle Scottish National Party Edinburgh West 16.09.2015
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 08.09.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 15.07.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 14.07.2015