Early day motion 249

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that, until recently, Botton Village, a Camphill Community of 60 years' standing, offered a shared way of life for learning-disabled adults alongside volunteer co-workers, living as equals, sharing home, work, culture and recreation; further notes that Camphill Village Trust (CVT) is now insisting that co-workers become employees, with living quarters segregated from residents; further notes that in 2012, concerns were raised, including on safeguarding, about how the volunteer co-worker model at Botton Village was being run, and in February 2014 the Charity Commission published an operational compliance report that stated that key trustees shared its concerns and were committed to addressing them urgently; further notes that the Commission's report does not state that the existing co-worker model was intrinsically problematic; also notes that the HM Revenue and Customs technical document BIM22040 sets out how to operate a volunteer co-working model; further notes that this model continues to operate at other Camphill communities in the UK; is concerned about reports from families of residents at Botton Village that the loss of the residents' chosen lifestyle, of their home and family life as they know it, and the removal of very dear friends, is causing distress to learning-disabled residents; and therefore urges CVT to work with the authorities to revert to a volunteer co-worker model at Botton Village; and calls on the Department of Health to work with the Care Quality Commission, HM Revenue and Customs and the Charity Commission to support those running intentional communities to ensure that the unique and successful volunteer co-worker model can continue.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 49

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 49 out of 49

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 14.07.2015
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 07.09.2015
Bellingham, Henry Conservative Party North West Norfolk 04.05.2016
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 20.07.2015
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 13.07.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.07.2015
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 30.11.2015
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 30.11.2015
Carswell, Douglas UKIP Clacton 19.11.2015
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 07.09.2015
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 11.01.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 26.11.2015
Debbonaire, Thangam Labour Party Bristol West 07.07.2015
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 07.07.2015
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 05.11.2015
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 19.11.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.10.2015
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 16.11.2015
Elliott, Tom Ulster Unionist Party Fermanagh and South Tyrone 16.11.2015
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 15.07.2015
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 26.11.2015
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 14.12.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 15.07.2015
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 20.07.2015
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 21.07.2015
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 07.09.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 24.11.2015
Hollinrake, Kevin Conservative Party Thirsk and Malton 12.01.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.07.2015
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 23.11.2015
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 14.10.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.07.2015
McCaig, Callum Scottish National Party Aberdeen South 05.01.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 02.12.2015
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 02.02.2016
Murrison, Andrew Conservative Party Wiltshire South West 07.09.2015
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 20.07.2015
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 05.11.2015
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 30.11.2015
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 05.11.2015
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 14.07.2015
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 16.11.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.07.2015
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 30.11.2015
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 07.09.2015
Sturdy, Julian Conservative Party York Outer 16.07.2015
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 07.07.2015
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 06.07.2015
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 03.12.2015