Early day motion 241

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses severe concerns about the ongoing restrictions against free speech in Bahrain; notes the recent findings by Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch of reprisals against individuals exercising their right to free speech in Bahrain, including the continued ban on protests and rallies and the systematic use of torture and other cruel and degrading treatment; condemns the harassment, intimidation, detention and sentencing of human rights defender Nabeel Rajab to six months' imprisonment for a tweet critical of the Ministries of Interior and Defence; is concerned at the current trial of Mr Rajab for tweets that may lead to 10 years' imprisonment; is alarmed at the deterioration of the political climate in Bahrain and the crackdown on political dissent and fundamental freedoms in that country; calls on the government of Bahrain to release all political prisoners and those imprisoned for their right to freedom of expression; and urges the Foreign and Commonwealth Office to re-evaluate its assistance to Bahrain in light of these ongoing violations and to implement the recommendations of the Foreign Affairs Committee in its First Report of Session 2013-14, HC88, by listing Bahrain as a country of concern in its upcoming human rights report.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 44

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 44 out of 44

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 21.07.2015
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 07.07.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.07.2015
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 21.07.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 08.07.2015
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 21.07.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 09.07.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 15.07.2015
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 06.07.2015
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 06.07.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 06.07.2015
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 06.07.2015
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 06.07.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 06.07.2015
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 08.07.2015
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 07.07.2015
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 07.09.2015
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 07.09.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.07.2015
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 06.07.2015
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 13.07.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 18.04.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 02.07.2015
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 13.07.2015
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 07.09.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.07.2015
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 08.07.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 07.07.2015
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 09.07.2015
Osamor, Kate Labour Party Edmonton 14.07.2015
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 07.07.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 07.07.2015
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 08.07.2015
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 06.07.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.07.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.07.2015
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.07.2015
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 07.07.2015
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 12.10.2015
Thomson, Michelle Scottish National Party Edinburgh West 07.07.2015
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 08.09.2015
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 07.07.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 20.07.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 14.07.2015