Early day motion 234

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House commends the Women's Tennis Association for introducing regular heat breaks for competitors at Wimbledon once the temperature exceeds 30 degrees Celsius; is surprised that similar provisions are not also in place for male competitors; regrets that workers in the UK have no guaranteed legal safeguards from working in uncomfortably high temperatures, owing to the lack of a statutory maximum temperature at which employers would have to introduce control measures, such as breaks, access to water or air conditioning; appreciates that excessive heat in the workplace is responsible for heat stress and thermal discomfort, and can impact seriously on health, well-being and productivity; recognises that this is not just the case for highly paid tennis stars, but is a matter of concern for workers in a wide range of workplaces including offices, schools, shops, bakeries, vehicles, trains, call-centres, theatres and construction sites; and calls on the Government to adopt the recommendations of the TUC and joint union Cool It! campaign to introduce into law a maximum working temperature of 30 degrees Celsius (or 27 degrees Celsius for those doing strenuous work), beyond which employers would have a statutory duty to introduce effective control measures.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 13.07.2015
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 02.07.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 02.07.2015
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 21.07.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 01.07.2015
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 07.07.2015
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.05.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 02.07.2015
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 07.07.2015
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 06.07.2015
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 06.07.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 06.07.2015
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 16.07.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 06.07.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.07.2015
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian 02.07.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 01.07.2015
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 07.07.2015
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 02.07.2015
Madders, Justin Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 02.07.2015
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 07.07.2015
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 02.07.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 01.07.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 02.07.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 02.07.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 06.07.2015
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 07.07.2015
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 06.07.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 02.07.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 06.07.2015
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.07.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 02.07.2015
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 02.07.2015
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 06.07.2015
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 06.07.2015
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 15.07.2015
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 06.07.2015