Early day motion 1446

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses grave concern at the failure of the Government to ensure parity in respect of terms of service between officers of the Civil Nuclear Constabulary and the Home Office police forces and Police Scotland; notes that the Department of Energy and Climate Change, as the sponsoring agency of the Civil Nuclear Constabulary, has failed to equalise the terms and conditions applying to these police officers in regard to retirement age, and that the Government has increased the retirement age for these officers to 68, notwithstanding the fact that the officers in question are required to carry and deploy firearms and ammunition weighing approximately 25 kilograms, and potentially to respond to terrorist attacks in support of territorial police forces on the streets of England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales; and recognises that the Government has so far failed to act to rectify the inequity in retirement age, which is unrealistic and unfair to the officers, and has failed to recognise the potential consequences of reduced operational effectiveness in the context of protecting the public from potential terrorist attack.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.05.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 11.05.2016
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 09.05.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.05.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 09.05.2016
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 09.05.2016
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 09.05.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 11.05.2016
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 11.05.2016
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 11.05.2016
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 09.05.2016
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 10.05.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 10.05.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 10.05.2016
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 11.05.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 11.05.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 11.05.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 09.05.2016
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West 11.05.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 09.05.2016